Handmade mee hoon kueh

image

This isn’t the first time I made handmade noodle dough…  I had used it for bian mian / mee noon Kueh previously. NOW with 2 kids.. I gotta upsize the portion. So here comes another portion for 2 adults 2 kids.

image

Mix the flour, salt well…
make a well and add in the egg and oil …

image

mix well and slowly add in water to form a soft dough

image

knead the dough to a smooth dough… if by accident you added too much water… slowly add in some tapioca starch..
image

Leave it aside for at least an hour then dust with some tapocia starch when you are rolling it if it’s too sticky… 
image

I spotted Mani cai in supermarket and decided to grab it.
image

In SG, it’s very rare that store selling homemade noodle will use this veg. Very rare. Even if they do add, it’s that 4-5 leaves of it…

Was yakking with my gal that I doesn’t like handmade noodle unless I had the luxury to eat in peace… if not, it always get soggy….
So she taught me to add some tapiocia starch… it turns out to be slightly chewy and can stand the cooking time without turning too soggy to be eaten when you can’t finish it immediately…

Do you like soupy one or dry ones?
I like mine dry with lots of chilli.. cripsy prawn chilli…
While the hb and kids like soup ones.
image
image
image
image
image
image

This is the chilli i used
I mixed it with dark soya sauce, crispy chilli and onion oil.
image
for the broth
I cook it with soya bean, sole fish and chicken bone.
image
image
image

image

12 thoughts on “Handmade mee hoon kueh

  1. Hi, I have tried ur previous recipe using corn flour. The kueh texture is really nice. Any difference now that you are using tapioca flour?

  2. Pingback: Mee hoon kueh | Sim 沈妈咪的私房菜 Mami

  3. Hi there,
    You mentioned : “for the broth I cook it with soya bean, sole fish and chicken bone.”

    Can you please advise what do you mean by you cook it with SOYA BEANS? Do you mean you put in dried soya beans to make the broth?

    Thanks
    Khim

Leave a Reply

