Homemade soya milk

Homemade soya milk isn’t difficult to make at all…
No need to buy special maker… or machine.
Its whether you want to take the effort to do it anot.
I have to admit I am very *Yim chim* to some ppl ESP when it comes to what goes into my kids.
image

image

I ever bought soya milk that is burnt…  yes chow ta taste… 
Or soya milk that had colour but no taste at all… or tasted like plain water added to it that only had that white colour.

I love to have thick taste soya milk… tats what I called soya milk not soya water… 
See the bean curd skin forming while cooling it ….

What I did was soak the soya beans for a few hours till it expanded or overnight ( I leave it in the fridge)

My portion is

8 tablespoon of beans :  250-300 ml water
Blend the beans and water and sieve it out…

How much to make is up to u..  I usually make at least 1-2 litres..
This is the thick taste version.

Sieve it twice to ensure no residues goes into the pot. If not, u very likely going to get burnt soya milk…

I added pandan leaves for extra fragrant.

Used rock sugar to taste. Or leave it sugarless to your preference.

Bring the soya milk to a boil. Add in rock sugar. Please make sure your soya milk is boiled. Raw soya milk had a poison substance in it.
Watch the flame, it will overflow out if you used too high flame.
Once boiling, add in rock sugar to taste. Done and leave it to cool.
I cooked it for around 20-25min so that the pandan got infused into the soya milk too.

You will notice the bean curd skin starts to form on top of the milk while you are leaving it to cool…
Just fish it up and slurp it up.

Note:
do not use the normal sieve.. it will leave behind the residues of the beans. Go get the cloth that they used to filter  coffee in kopitiam. I find those the best I ever used

image
image
image
image
image
image

image

Leave a comment